Litecoin Mining?

Life, the Universe and Everything!

Moderator: Dangerous Bob

Postby Trig » Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:03 pm

I'm getting ~450 out of the 270x I have running the following line

setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://pool1.eu.multipool.us:7777 -u Trig0r.main -p x --failover-only -o stratum+tcp://pool1.us.multipool.us:7777 -u Trig0r.main -p x --no-submit-stale --intensity 18 -v 1 -g 1 --lookup-gap 2 -w 256 --shaders 0 --gpu-engine 1120 --gpu-memclock 1500

As long as you get 0 or very low hw: numbers then you should be fine.
Trig
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 4340
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:18 pm

Postby Dangerous Bob » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:21 am

Time for a new smiley then?
Image
Image
Dangerous Bob
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby Trig » Sat Jan 04, 2014 11:42 am

Ha, nice one..
Trig
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 4340
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:18 pm

Postby Dangerous Bob » Sun Jan 05, 2014 12:23 pm

OK so I'm getting my head around this slowly.

The multipool automatically ssend you data to mine on various coin types, what.ever is getting the best rate at the time.
I had no idea there were so many types of currency, but there again, I'd only heard of bitcoins the other month....

You get charged a mining fee, then there's also a voluntary donation % to the pool towards running costs.

You can then cash it out for a standard BTC sum, which goes into a wallet. Most recommend an offline wallet, backed up. I set up an LTC wallet the other day, but I can't transfer another other type of currency into it, I guess.

You then have an exchange account where you can sell the BTC to get $ or Euros, minus another fee.

What do you use cryptsy for?

Edit:/ Aaaah, I think I get it, Multipool does not give you the BTC amount, just what you've mined, DOGE coins or whatever, then you use Cryptsy to convert it to LTC or BTC.

Which wallets you using?
I'm using Litecoin at the moment and have been recommended Bitcoin Armory as well.
Last edited by Dangerous Bob on Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
Dangerous Bob
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby Trig » Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:11 pm

I mine from multipool, then go from there to cryptsy, convert to either LTC or BTC depending which is best at the time, then to btc-e.
Trig
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 4340
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:18 pm

Postby Dangerous Bob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:20 am

Another Q then, Do you have to generate a new address for each altcoin to transfer them into cryptsy?
?
Image
Image
Dangerous Bob
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby Trig » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:28 am

When you setup a cryptsy account it'll give you an address for each coin mined, lock them into multipool...
Trig
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 4340
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:18 pm

Postby Dangerous Bob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:35 am

see that, seems a workup to have a different address for each coin...
Image
Image
Dangerous Bob
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby madman045 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:07 am

<a href="http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18568857" target="_blank">http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18568857</a>

Just amazes me the amount of hardware people throw at this

One guy has made around £600 since mid november, but then he has a lot of hardware dedicated to it

One guys hash rate is 5000 Kh/s and he is doing WDC?

Is there an numpty guide in doing all this, might leave my PC on over night etc...
<a href="http://bf3stats.com/stats_pc/madman045" target="_blank">Image</a>
madman045
GSV Regular
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:24 pm

Postby Dangerous Bob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:11 pm

Best thing to do is get Trig to give you a bat file which allows you to mine as a worker on his account.

You can then work through what cgminer does, and slowly get a handle on it.

Then you can trial getting your own account on a multipool, cryptsy and BTCe and trying it yourself.

There are a couple of guides, but none are really complete or they're out of date....
Might try to put down what I've learnt later because that's as N00b as it can get..

This is quite a good blog to start with

<a href="http://www.followthecoin.com/the-secret-to-mining-bitcoins/" target="_blank">http://www.followthecoin.com/the-secret-to-mining-bitcoins/</a>
Last edited by Dangerous Bob on Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
Dangerous Bob
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby Trig » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:30 pm

Its easy enough to get going via multipool then just convert to btc/ltc, we're been going about a month now and sat on ~$250 in a mix of LTC and BTC.

I dont think its too late to get setup if you have an AMD GPU, I woudlnt recommend it with an NVidia card, I was getting just over 200khs on my 670 on the older version of cudaminer, on the 270x's I'm getting ~450 per card.

Not 100% sure what times Compo is running but I've got one 270x running 24/7, one thats about 22/7, then whatever Bob/COmpo do on top of that, gives us 20k doge a day on multipool, depending on which coins it sets us to mine on.
Trig
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 4340
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:18 pm

Postby madman045 » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:36 am

well I definitely cant use my main rig for mining, thankfully I have the Asus software installed to tell me that my motherboard was at 60c!

glad i didn't leave it running all night, GPU at 86c

I can see why people have a dedicated mining machine and use risers with a make shift GPU holder
<a href="http://bf3stats.com/stats_pc/madman045" target="_blank">Image</a>
madman045
GSV Regular
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:24 pm

Postby Dangerous Bob » Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:17 am

need to get some more cooling in there.... :D what does it normally run at when playing games?
Is the Fan winding up to 100%?

Mine sits at 65, same as when playing Dayz, skyrim etc.
That's stock cooling with a modest overclock, but with the side of the case off...

you can set up the conf to keep a set temp using fan speeds and even clock speeds.
Image
Image
Dangerous Bob
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 1760
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 pm

Postby Trig » Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:17 pm

I managed to get both the 270x's in my main rig despite it being mATX, the cards were touching even with them moved as far away from each other as loosening the screws and moving them apart, one was sat @73oC, the other over 100oC...
I almost decided to get new board chip n case and xfire the 270x's in one box, then I decided against it as it was going to be too much of an outlay just for mining for not much actual gain.

If it comes to it then I might just get an old board thats 775 and put both 270x's in that and then put the 670GTX back in my main rig, not that theres any real difference between the two cards in BF3..

Maybe change my mind again when I get BF4...
Trig
GSV Spammer
 
Posts: 4340
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:18 pm

Postby madman045 » Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:09 pm

This thread deserves a WTF, the guy only started in December, he's earned back his 3k outlay and electric and is £1500 up, but then look at what he has and is buying!
<a href="http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18570256&page=2" target="_blank">http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthrea...0256&page=2</a>
<a href="http://bf3stats.com/stats_pc/madman045" target="_blank">Image</a>
madman045
GSV Regular
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:24 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron